Water for elephants (cont.)

On a random outing after the gym yesterday, my friend and I trekked to the nearest theater to watch Robert Pattinson and Reese Witherspoon in the film adaptation of Water for Elephants.  It was late on a weeknight, my eyelids were feeling a little heavy, but I still somewhat enjoyed the movie.  Of course, the eye candy that Robert Pattinson proved helpful 😉

As expected, the story lines of the novel and film weren’t parallel.  The movie at least stayed true to the major undertones and plot of the book.  Christoph Waltz is a wonderful actor and was spectacular as August, the head animal trainer of Benzini Brother’s “Most Spectacular Show on Earth”.  His intensity and missing-a-screw personality really showed through.

Several characters from the novel were omitted, and the chronicity of the film did not follow the novel.  I was disappointed that none of the nursing homes narratives in the book were translated into film.  They contained many of the more amusing aspects of the story and aided in understanding the intricacies of Jacob’s character.  Unfortunately, the ending I wasn’t so fond of was re-enacted…and it still wasn’t believable…

I’m glad Robert Pattinson did another novel-to-film rendition because Twilight was a huge disappointment to me.  Water for Elephants was not as much of a disappointment, but in my opinion the book is better nonetheless.

, , , ,

  1. #1 by Lisa Wields Words on 19 May 2011 - 19:05

    Now I’m not sure I want to see it, as I loved the book so much. Well, it may not come near me anyway, so it probably will be one for Netflix.

    • #2 by readoreat on 20 May 2011 - 22:18

      Netflix has everything 🙂 Only downside is that you’ll have to wait a few months!

  2. #3 by leelouz on 19 May 2011 - 20:45

    just came out of this movie! i really liked it, although i have not read the book, but might, as i love reading…interesting to see the life behind the arena… not always as jolly as during performances…

    • #4 by readoreat on 20 May 2011 - 22:21

      I know! I never realized how much work, stress, and effort goes into these productions. The nomadic lifestyle doesn’t seem as free and glamorous anymore.

  3. #5 by Kato McKracken on 19 May 2011 - 23:43

    Yay! I’m so glad you wrote this because I’ve been wanting to see the movie (as well as read the book), and none of my friends have seen it, so no one has given me an opinion.
    I will probably see it this weekend. I could go for a little romance and Robert Pattinson 😉 But even just on the previews, it seems like he and Reese Witherspoon don’t have a great connection. Did you notice that? I guess I’ll just have to see!
    Glad to know it wasn’t a total waste of time. Now I won’t feel bad blowing $10 on a movie!

    • #6 by readoreat on 20 May 2011 - 22:23

      The only thing between Reese Witherspoon and Robert Pattinson that didn’t seem too right was their age difference. Reese Witherspoon is obviously a bit older than Pattinson, but other than that they looked pretty good together to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

